Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Photo of Oleske, PhD ’83, MPH ’74, Denise

Denise Oleske, PhD ’83, MPH ’74

Champion of Public Health Award


Denise has been a member of the School of Public Health community from the beginning. She received her MPH in ’74 and PhD in ’83 from the Division of Epidemiology and Biostatistics. Currently, Denise works as the Director of Epidemiology at AbbVie, but her career has spanned academia, research and healthcare. As chair of the Dean’s Executive Advisory Board, she helped lead a vision grounded in a partnership between the academic voice of the school and the business community.

Denise established the 2020 Scholarship Fund: Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the School of Public Health to support graduate students in perpetuity. The scholarship honors an important time in our history, with the hope that in 50 years students will look back at this time and know we were committed to their success. The goal of this scholarship is to expand the joint legacy of the School of Public Health community. Denise generously jumped started the scholarship, but hopes to see continued support to expand and sustain beyond from the SPH community of alumni, students, faculty and friends. Denise wants to thank those who have supported this scholarship and encourages others to support our students who will continue the critical work of protecting and improving health for everyone.