You are here


Asian American Public Health Student Organization

What is AAPHSO?

The Asian American Public Health Student Organization (AAPHSO) was founded to provide service opportunities, research presentations along with other learning seminars, as well as social outlets for all students at the University of Illinois at Chicago who are interested in Asian American Public Health issues.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Asian American Public Health Student Organization is to promote the health and well-being of Asian American communities and to increase awareness about the significant public health issues they face. Through research seminars, and social and community service activities, the organization will educate the University of Illinois at Chicago community about Asian American public health needs as well as support the needs of all students within the School of Public Health. In line with the Great Cities Commitment, the organization will cultivate connections between the University of Illinois at Chicago, School of Public Health and Chicago’s Asian American communities, serving as a resource for the campus to engage with off-campus Asian American organizations.


Membership is limited to UIC students, faculty and staff. All requirements must meet the Board of Trustees policies regarding nondiscrimination on the basis of race, religion, sex or national origin. Eligibility requirements of new members: be a student, faculty, or staff member of UIC. Potential members do not need to fill out an application form, pay dues, nor be required to attend a certain number of meetings to obtain membership.


  • Opportunity to run for and hold office
  • Receive special invitation to all AAPHSO research, community and social events
  • Express ideas for future AAPHSO events and public health concerns for the Asian American community
  • Receive help in building connection with Asian American community organizations


2016-2017 AAPHSO Board

Lisa Diep


Angel Abraham


Imee Ignacio


Claire Huang

Executive Secretary/
Media Chair

Behnaz Ahmed

Event Chair

Esha Kumar

First Year Liaison


Like us on Facebook!